Methamphetamine Possession & Manufacturing Defense Attorney: Fort Worth, Texas
If you have been arrested in Tarrant County for possession or manufacturing of Methamphetamine, you are facing serious charges and potentially severe consequences. These charges should not be taken lightly, and should never be fought without the help of an experienced meth charge lawyer. Whether you are facing charges for manufacturing methamphetamines, trafficking meth, or for possession the consequences of a conviction are dire.
Methamphetamine (meth) is considered a dangerous and addictive drug. Although there are some medical reasons why it may be prescribed, if you possess meth without having a valid prescription, you may be charged with a crime. Unlike cocaine or marijuana, nothing in methamphetamine is naturally grown. It is the product of a dangerous chemical process where various chemicals are combined and “cooked” to create a rock-like substance called crystal meth or a powdery substance. Synonyms for meth include speed, ice, crank and others.
It is illegal to possess meth in Texas and all 50 states, and the penalties depend upon the amount allegedly possessed, trafficking, or manufactured. It is also illegal to possess chemicals used in the manufacturing of meth, if the chemicals are possessed for that purpose. Manufacturing meth is illegal and, as with possession, the penalty depends upon the amount manufactured. The Texas Health and Safety Code, Section 481, provides the penalties for all drug related offenses.
Possession of Methamphetamine
- A State Felony: Possession of less than one gram of meth, which is about the size of a sugar cube, will land you in jail for up to two years, with a fine up to $10,000.
- 3rd Degree Felony: Possession of one gram but less than four grams carries a sentence of between two and 10 years, with a fine of $10,000.
- 2nd Degree Felony: Possession of more than four grams but less than 200 grams carries a sentence of two to 20 years, with a $10,000 fine.
- 1st Degree Felony: Possession of 200 grams but less than 400 grams carries a minimum mandatory sentence of five to 99 years in prison, with a fine of $10,000.
- Enhanced 1st Degree Felony: Possession of more than 400 grams a minimum mandatory sentence of 10 to 99 years in prison, with a fine up to $100,000.
Possession of Chemicals for Use in the Manufacturing of Methamphetamine
There was a time, not so long ago, when Sudafed and other ephedrine containing products could be easily bought over-the-counter (OTC). Although it is still sold OTC, there are limits to how much you can purchase at one time. You can also be convicted for carrying any paraphernalia you possess for the purpose of manufacturing.
Possession of meth paraphernalia can result in a fine up to $20,000. The amount of the fine depends on whether you have any prior drug related convictions, and the circumstances surrounding the current conviction.
Although it is hard for some people to comprehend the seriousness of a conviction for simply having cold medicine or a pipe, the consequences are all too real. Anyone facing possession of meth paraphernalia or possession of other related amphetamine chemicals should seek experienced legal counsel with proof of not guilty verdicts for people facing meth charges. Only an experienced meth charge attorney should be trusted with a case so important to you and your family’s future.
Penalties for Manufacturing Methamphetamine in Texas
Manufacturing meth is a particularly serious charge. As with other drug charges, the penalty imposed for a conviction depends on the amount of the drug allegedly manufactured. Below are the fines and penalties for a methamphetamine manufacturing conviction in Texas by weight.
- A State Jail Felony: Less than one gram requires a minimum mandatory of six months in jail and may be up to two years.
- 2nd Degree Felony: One gram but less than four grams carries a sentence of between two and 20 years and a fine of $10,000.
- 1st Degree Felony: Four grams but less than 200 grams carries a mandatory sentence of five years and may be up to 99 years in prison, with a $10,000 fine.
- Enhanced First Degree Felony: 200 grams but less than 400 grams carries a minimum sentence of 10 years and may be up to 99 years, with a fine of $100,000.
- Enhanced First Degree Felony: 400 grams or more carries a minimum mandatory sentence of 15 years in prison and may be up to 99 years, with a fine up to $250,000.
An Experienced Meth Charge Defense Lawyer May Be Able to Help
The actual sentence imposed for any offense involving methamphetamine depends on the minimum mandatory required by the specific statute, the circumstances surrounding each case, and whether or not you have prior convictions for drug offenses. If you have been charged with any methamphetamine offense in Texas, you need the services of an aggressive possession of methamphetamine defense attorney.
Jeff Hampton was a former Tarrant County prosecutor, so he knows what to expect from the other side. Although there are no guarantees in the legal system, he will work diligently to protect all of your constitutional rights and do his best to mitigate the penalties. If working with the prosecutor for reduced charges or penalties seems appropriate, he is a good negotiator. If it is in your best interest to take your case to trial, you will be glad to have him standing by you in the courtroom. You need a dedicated, zealous and aggressive defense attorney for possession of methamphetamine, and you will find that in Jeff Hampton. Contact the Hampton Criminal Defense Attorneys, PLLC today if you have been charged with meth possession or manufacturing.