Skip to main content

Have you been arrested for a Theft Charge in Fort Worth or the surrounding cities of Tarrant County, Texas? Do You Need a Defense Attorney?

It is natural to feel overwhelmed or anxious about what your next steps should be and how to resolve your theft case. We hope you find the material we have written a helpful guide to making good decisions about your theft case in Texas.

It is completely normal to feel frustrated and afraid. Afraid you will lose your job. Afraid, you will go to jail. Afraid this theft arrest will be on your record for the rest of your life. In your frustration, you may be searching on the internet or on discussion boards about what steps you can take to get your theft case dismissed.

You are right to be concerned about a theft charge. It is critical that your theft case be dismissed and expunged from your criminal record. Unfortunately, a misdemeanor or felony theft conviction can make it very difficult to find a job. Many employers view theft and shoplifting convictions as serious as a felony conviction because it leads them to believe they cannot trust you as an employee.

First, our crime lawyers need to examine the crime of theft and different crimes that are closely related to theft under Texas law. It’s important to let an attorney help you along the way. To illustrate this information, I will share a story of a former client I represented on a theft charge in Tarrant County, Texas and how their story can guide you in planning your plan of action to dismiss your theft case. Let us first examine an overview of Texas theft laws:

Under Texas law, the crime of Theft is the act of taking another person’s property without their permission.

In general, the punishment for a theft crime varies depending upon the value of the stolen property. A conviction for theft in Texas could result in the following consequences:

  • Theft of property/services of a value under $100 could result in a Class C Misdemeanor conviction
  • Theft of property/services of a value of $100 – $750 could result in a Class B Misdemeanor conviction
  • Theft of property/services of a value of $750 – $2500 could result in a Class A Misdemeanor conviction
  • Theft of property/services of a value of $2500 – $30,000 could result in a State Jail Felony conviction
  • Theft of property/services of a value of $30,000 – $150,000 could result in a Third-Degree Felony conviction
  • Theft of property/services of a value of $150,000 – $300,000 could result in a Second-Degree Felony conviction
  • Theft of property/services of a value of $300,000 or more could result in a First-Degree Felony conviction

Whether charged as a felony or a misdemeanor, theft is a serious criminal charge that carries devastating long-term consequences. In addition to jail time and fines, a theft conviction may permanently limit your ability to obtain gainful employment. Under Texas law, shoplifting and many other theft crimes are considered crimes of moral turpitude. A conviction for a crime against moral turpitude could result in limited employment opportunities, the deportation of an alien, and could result in your honesty and good name being held in question for the remainder of your life.

A few years ago, I received a phone call from a young man who had been arrested for a theft charge in Fort Worth, Texas. More specifically, he had been charged with the crime of shoplifting. This young man’s name was Tyler. I began speaking to Tyler when I heard his parents interrupt the conversation. The parents of this young man were very upset. They could not believe that their son became involved with a situation that could ruin his life. Tyler had never been in trouble before and was in the middle of his college career at Texas Christian University in Fort Worth, Texas.

Tyler met with me at my office and I began to answer his questions. Tyler was visibly upset about the time he spent in jail. He said the entire time he was sitting in jail he was afraid he might go back to jail in the future, afraid he might be convicted of theft, afraid he would have no chance at a bright future because people would forever think he was a thief. This led to his first question for defense…

Theft & Shoplifting - A Former DA Explains Why You Can NOT Take a Conviction! (2021)

Fort Worth Theft Lawyer

What If I Was With Someone Else At The Time Of The Theft? If I Didn’t Actually Take The Items, Can My Case Be Dismissed? Our Theft Attorney is Here To Answer all of Your Questions.

Tyler started our consultation with a great first question – if you are not the person who actually stole the items associated with the theft, can your case be dismissed? Possibly. Tyler was referring to the Law of Parties.

Under Texas law, the Law of Parties states that you may be still be criminally responsible for the theft, if you aided, assisted, solicited, encouraged, directed, or attempted to aid another person to commit the offense. In other words, if you did anything at all in furtherance of the theft, the law of parties states you are criminally responsible for theft.

However, I reminded Tyler that the State of Texas must prove the Law of Parties beyond a reasonable doubt. Merely being present at the scene of a crime does not make you criminally responsible. It is possible to be at the wrong place at the wrong time and the police assume you were a part of the theft taking place. Tyler then wanted to know

How Is Theft Proven? What Does The Government Have To Show? What about receiving Stolen Property?

To prove theft or shoplifting, the State of Texas must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that Tyler intentionally or knowingly permanently deprived the owner of the property without their consent. In Tyler’s situation, he was alleged to have been shoplifting at a local store. After hearing Tyler’s story, I thought it was important for him to understand some specific points about first-time shoplifting charges.

It is very important that a Fort Worth theft lawyer break down the specific facts of a shoplifting charge because if the store Tyler was in claimed he stole items but, instead, he accidentally failed to scan an item but scanned everything else, the State of Texas will have a difficult time proving criminal intent for the crime of Theft.

Another scenario that happens with shoplifting cases is when you have not yet passed all points of sale because you were looking at something else. For instance, this happens very frequently at Walmart. Walmart will tend to arrest people walking from the main shopping area into the Garden center area claiming they were attempting to leave the store without paying for the items. In this situation, if you have not passed all points of sale, the State of Texas will have a difficult time proving the criminal intent element of theft.

I wanted Tyler to understand that because this was his very first arrest in his young life, it was imperative that he not take a plea deal. We must work together to negotiate a dismissal of the charge because the ramifications are too serious if he was convicted. This led to Tyler’s next question,

Is There a Difference in Defending a Theft Charge and a Shoplifting Charge?

I wanted Tyler to understand that under Texas law, there was no difference between theft and shoplifting. They are two different terms explaining the same thing under the law. Even if the allegation does not involve stealing from a retailer, the same elements of theft must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt by the State of Texas.

One difference in theft and shoplifting is the fact scenario that is being prosecuted. For instance, with a theft charge, the Prosecutor may try to claim a bad business deal can constitute theft. If Company A enters into a construction contract with Company B and after they sign the contract one party pays a down payment and the other party starts construction but one party gets upset at the other because they didn’t complete the contract as expected, it is common for the upset party to claim theft.

The problem with that claim is that in order to prove theft in this situation, the State of Texas will have to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the offending party had specific criminal intent to defraud the other party at the time of the contract. That is difficult to show in most cases.

Finally, theft charges can sometimes arise where businesses claim to be victimized by consumers. For instance, companies like Rent-A-Center and other rent-to-own businesses will sometimes claim to be a victim because they rented out furniture or items at 28% interest and when the person can no longer pay because of difficult life circumstances, they will call the police and seek to have the individual arrested for theft. This is a gross abuse of the penal code and should be fought by a Fort Worth theft lawyer.

In summary, Tyler needed to understand that he must NOT take a plea deal. He needed a dismissal to be negotiated so that he could have the charge and arrest removed from his criminal record. This led to Tyler’s last question

If The State Can Prove Everything, Is There Still A Way I Can Get This Shoplifting Crime Case Dismissed and Expunged From My Record?

Yes! Even if the police can prove every element of theft beyond a reasonable doubt, there is a very chance we would be able to get Tyler’s case dismissed. This could be achieved by securing a conditional dismissal or a dismissal because of a Tarrant County Diversion Program

Tyler was interested in the idea of a dismissal and wanted to know more about a conditional dismissal for theft. A conditional dismissal is a way to resolve a case that works much like a contract. The Prosecutor agrees to dismiss your case in exchange for you completing terms and conditions in advance. Your Fort Worth theft lawyer must negotiate directly with the prosecutor and persuade them to dismiss the case in exchange for one or many of these possible conditions: community service hours, completion of a theft class, proof of employment, etc.

Tyler also wanted more details about the Diversion Program Options available to him on theft cases. Specifically, in Tarrant County, Texas, there is one specific Diversion program to consider with theft cases. This program is important for Tyler to consider because completion of a Diversion Program allows for an Immediate Eligibility for Expunction!

Deferred Prosecution Program (DPP) in Tarrant County, Texas – the Deferred Prosecution Program is a diversion program that allows certain theft offenses for admission. The program is designed specifically for first-time offenders with no prior criminal history. There is virtually no supervision involved in the program. It is designed to be a second chance to first-time offenders.

Applicants must not be older than 24 years of age, must not have had a previous juvenile adjudication or adult class b misdemeanor or above offense and must be able to pass a drug test. There are two tracks available under the Deferred Prosecution Program – Track A is the traditional DPP track and would apply to all theft and theft-related charges. Track A consists of an application, background investigation, orientation and passing of a drug test.

There is a strict 90-day deadline from the filing of the Texas Theft case that must be met to be considered for admission to the program.

A short summary of the DPP Program requirements include:

  • Fees
    • Track A fee = $125
  • Orientation – requires a parent or accountability partner to be present for the 2-hour orientation where paperwork is signed and finalized to begin the program
  • Length of Program
    • Misdemeanor Drug Crimes – 4 months
    • Felony Drug Crimes – 8 months
  • Drug Test

Eligible Drug Offense for Consideration of the Deferred Prosecution Program (DPP)

  1. Theft and theft of service, where the value is less than $30,000 (Misdemeanor – State Jail Felony)
  2. Unauthorized Use of a Vehicle (State Jail Felony)
  3. Burglary of a Building (excludes habitation)
  4. Burglary of a Coin Operated Machine
  5. Credit Card and Debit Card Abuse (State Jail Felony)
  6. Forgery (misdemeanor)
  7. Possession, manufacture, distribution of instrument to commit retail theft (misdemeanor)

I almost forgot one last program that was available to Tyler because he had served in the military for a short time. I wanted him to know about the Tarrant County Veteran’s Court Diversion Program.

Veteran’s Court Diversion Program in Tarrant County, Texas

The Tarrant county Veteran’s Court Diversion Program is a diversion program designed exclusively for veterans of the United States military. Additionally, there must be a clinical diagnosis of a brain injury, mental illness, or mental disorder, including Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder that resulted from serving in a combat zone or similar hazardous duty area. The program requires a program fee of up to $500.00 and may include additional expenses for drug urinalysis, evaluations, inpatient/outpatient counseling and treatment.

The Veteran’s Court Program directly supervises all participants by requiring bi-monthly compliance hearings and making sure each participant is on track for progress through the program. The program length can range from 6 – 24 months. Length is determined by each participant’s needs and or compliance with the program.

To enter the program, you must first apply for a referral into the program. After the referral is received, a face-to-face interview is scheduled for consideration, followed by a comprehensive assessment for final approval. Finally, there must be a plea before the court with jurisdiction to begin the program.

What is the benefit of this program? The benefit is that the case is dismissed, and you can get this charge expunged from your criminal record.

What is the risk of this program? If you do not complete the terms and requirements of the Veteran’s Court Diversion Program, you will have already entered a plea of guilty before the court and will no longer have the right to a jury trial. The judge would be permitted to sentence you anywhere within the range

Tyler was encouraged with the information he had received and excited that he had a clear plan of action to protect his freedom and clear his criminal record. Always get a crime lawyer before you answer any questions.

How did this true story end? Although Tyler had several options available to him to get his theft case dismissed, ultimately, we were able to convince the prosecutor that he was merely present at the scene at the time the theft took place and that he was simply in the wrong place at the wrong time and did nothing wrong. As a result of our efforts, he was exonerated and eligible to have his arrest and charge expunged from his record.

Tyler’s story is similar to many others who have been arrested for Theft in Texas. Unfortunately, many people are not provided the information they need to make good decisions after their arrest. It is important to have a crime lawyer to help. We hope this information from our crime attorney has clarified how the criminal justice system works, as it relates to Theft cases.

What about other charges like a Theft Crime in Texas? Let our theft defense attorney start by identifying other felony and misdemeanor crimes that are closely related to theft:

  • Robbery
  • Aggravated Robbery
  • Burglary of a Building
  • Burglary of a Habitation
  • Forgery
  • Fraudulent Use of Identifying Information
  • Theft by Check
  • Theft of Service
  • Unauthorized Use of a Motor Vehicle
  • Welfare Fraud
  • Receiving Stolen Property

When studying Theft Crimes, it is critical to understand the legal distinction between theft, robbery and burglary.

If you’re not quite sure, you are definitely not alone. These three crimes are often lumped together – both in media and in our popular consciousness – so that a lot of people don’t really know what makes something a robbery versus a simple theft, or whether someone can be charged with burglary if they didn’t actually steal anything.

Below, we’re going to clarify the differences as defined in Texas law by detailing the legal definitions and explaining the penalties. Then we’ll discuss what you can do if you are facing charges for any of these offenses. It’s important to contact a theft attorney and we will answer all of your questions.


As we spoke about in detail earlier, Theft is defined as unlawfully taking property of any kind from its owner, with the intent to deprive the owner of that property. If an owner does not give consent, or if an individual knowingly accepts stolen property, a charge of theft may apply.

Penalties can be enhanced if the offender was a public servant, government worker, or Medicare provider, or if the property owner was an elderly individual or nonprofit organization.

Theft charges also apply for theft of services, trade secrets, theft by check, unauthorized vehicle use, using certain instruments for retail theft, theft of financial information, cargo theft, and petroleum product theft.


Robbery is an offense committed in the course of committing theft. Robbery is also committed with the intent to obtain or maintain control of any property taken in the theft.

The charge of robbery applies if an individual causes bodily injury to another person, or if the individual places another person in fear of bodily injury or death while trying to steal from them. The individual must act with knowledge, intent, or recklessness for the charge to apply.

Aggravated robbery occurs when an individual causes serious bodily injury to another person or uses or shows a deadly weapon during the robbery. It is also an enhancement to robbery charges if the alleged victim is older than age 65 or mentally, physically, or developmentally disabled.

Robbery is a second-degree felony offense punishable by up to 20 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine. Aggravated robbery is a first-degree felony offense punishable by a minimum sentence of 5 years and a maximum sentence of life in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.


Burglary is an offense committed when an individual enters a habitation or building without the owner’s consent and with the intent of committing theft, assault, or a felony.

charge of burglary applies whether an individual conceals himself or herself inside a building with intent or enters and attempts to commit or commit theft, assault, or a felony. The individual can enter with any part of his or her body or with any object connected to his or her body for charges to apply.

Burglary penalties are a state jail felony for an offense committed in a non-habitation building.

A third-degree felony charge will apply if the burglary was committed in any commercial building that stores controlled substances or if the individual remained concealed inside the building in order to commit theft of a controlled substance.

They are a second-degree felony if committed in a habitation.

A first-degree felony charge will apply if the burglary was committed in a habitation and a felony other than felony theft was attempted or committed. Our crime attorney will guide you through the process.

Special provisions apply to burglary in the following circumstances:

  • Coin-operated or coin collection machines: Class A misdemeanor
  • Vehicles: Class A misdemeanor, state jail felony, or third-degree felony under various circumstances
  • Criminal trespass: various penalties based on the specific area entered without consent, and whether a handgun was carried by the offender

Theft? Robbery? Burglary? A Former DA Explains The Law And Defenses! (2021)

What to Do If You Face Charges Similar to Theft or Robbery? Our Attorney is Here to Help.

The best thing you can do is to get in contact with an attorney at our office as soon as charges are filed against you or you are arrested. When you do so, you can set up a free case review and initial consultation where we will go over the facts of your case with you and let you know what options are available to you.

The sooner you act, the better. Waiting provides the prosecution with more of a head start and may even prevent you from collecting or using some types of evidence.

Reach out to our attorney and we will protect your rights and reputation while we build the strongest possible defense against your charges.

If you have additional questions about your specific circumstances, we want to help you immediately with the answers to those questions.

Call The Hampton Criminal Defense Attorneys, PLLC Now For a Free Case Analysis


How To Get Started On Your Defense

Call Us Now at 817-877-5200

Speak to one of our most experienced attorneys that will listen to your concerns and answer your questions.

Receive a Free Case Analysis

We will break down the information you provide us and give you a clear plan of what to expect next and what your options are to best position yourself for success.

Get Your Life Back!

Let us provide you immediate help and guidance. You deserve to be treated fairly. Get your life back!