What If I Was Convicted of a DWI?

If you are convicted of a DWI or DUI in the courts of Tarrant County, Texas, you will be facing an automatic driver’s license suspension. Although the Texas Transportation Code §521.341, §521.343, §521.346, §521.3465 & §521.372 provides for an automatic driver’s license suspension for a variety of different criminal convictions (ex. Evading arrest, drug offenses, etc.), Texas law provides specific guidelines for the length of the automatic driver’s license suspension for citizens convicted of a DWI, DWI 2nd, Felony DWI, DUI, Intoxication Assault, and Intoxication Manslaughter.

 

If you have been convicted of a DWI in the courts of Tarrant County, Texas you will face an automatic driver’s license suspension that could last from 90 days to 1 year. If you have been convicted of a DWI 2nd or a Felony DWI in the courts of Tarrant County, Texas you will face an automatic driver’s license suspension that could last from 180 days to 2 years.

 

What If I Was Convicted of a DUI?

 

If you or your minor child has been convicted of a DUI, Intoxication Assault or Intoxication Manslaughter in the courts of Tarrant County, Texas and your sentence was NOT probated, you will face an automatic driver’s license suspension in which you will not be permitted to obtain an occupational driver’s license for a period of 1 year. If you or your minor child has been convicted of a DUI, Intoxication Assault or Intoxication Manslaughter in the courts of Tarrant County, Texas and your sentence WAS probated, you will face an automatic driver’s license suspension of 90 days (if an ignition interlock was made a condition of your community supervision) or 1 year (if an ignition interlock was NOT made a condition of your community supervision).

 

What If I Was Convicted of Intoxication Assault?

 

If you have been convicted of Intoxication Assault in the courts of Tarrant County, Texas and it is your first offense, you will receive an automatic driver’s license suspension that could last from 90 days to 1 year. However, if you have been convicted of Intoxication Assault and it is your 2nd or more conviction within 5 years of your most recent conviction, you will receive an automatic driver’s license suspension for a period of 1 year.

 

What if I was Convicted of Intoxication Manslaughter?

 

If you have been convicted of Intoxication Manslaughter in the courts of Tarrant County, Texas you will receive an automatic driver’s license suspension that could last from 180 days to 2 years.

 

At The Hampton Law Firm, we understand that receiving a DWI driver’s license suspension can be frustrating and confusing. Call The Hampton Law Firm now for a free consultation and we will determine how long your DWI license suspension will remain in effect and work to get your driver’s license back to you.

 

The Hampton Law Firm P.L.L.C. © 2017 | Privacy Policy

The Hampton Law Firm P.L.L.C. Criminal Defense Law Firm Logo