Will You Have to Be on the Texas Sex Offender Registry?

By September 28, 2017December 9th, 2020Sex Crimes, Sex Offender Registry

Will You Have to Be on the Texas Sex Offender Registry?

Under Texas law, a number of different offenses require registration as a sex offender. If you a facing a charge or worry that you may be charged, it is important to know which offenses qualify, as well as how long registration is required. That way, you can work with a knowledgeable sex crimes attorney to better plan your defense strategy.

Over 20 offenses require registration. Depending on the offense, registration is required either for 10 years or for lifetime. Registration may also be linked to parole requirements or mandatory or community supervision requirements. Registration may be required even if the conviction occurred for a crime outside of the state, if the offense is similar to Texas offenses that require registration.

Below we are going to detail the various offenses that require you to register, divided by offenses that put you on the registry for life versus only a decade.

The Texas Code of Criminal Procedure outlines which offenses require registration. Here is a simple explanation of the code requirements.

10-year registration offenses

  • Indecency with a young child not listed in Texas Penal Code 21.11
  • Kidnapping, aggravated kidnapping, or unlawful restraint of a victim under the age of 17
  • Solicitation, conspiracy, or attempt to commit an offense listed above
  • Solicitation of a minor using online methods
  • Certain prostitution listed under Texas Penal Code 43.02 (c)(3)
  • Second offense of indecent exposure under Texas Penal Code 21.08, or other kinds of second offenses
  • An offense that occurred under other state, federal, or foreign laws, or the Uniform Code of Military Justice, if the offense is similar to the offenses described above

Lifetime registration offenses

  • Continual sexual abuse of an individual young child or children
  • Indecency with a young child listed in Texas Penal Code 21.11(a)(1)
  • Sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault
  • Aggravated kidnapping with intent of sexual abuse
  • Burglary with the intent to commit sexual offenses
  • Sexual performance by a child
  • An offense that occurred under other state, federal, or foreign laws, or the Uniform Code of Military Justice, if the offense is similar to the offenses described above
  • Prohibited sexual conduct
  • Compelling prostitution
  • Child pornography possession or promotion
  • Human trafficking
  • Indecency with a young child while convicted or adjudicated for another offense that requires registration
  • Obscenity
  • Kidnapping, aggravated kidnapping, or unlawful restraint of a victim under the age of 17 while convicted or adjudicated for another offense that requires registration

Other registration scenarios

For adjudication of delinquent conduct, the duty to register ends on the 10th anniversary of whichever occurs last:

  • the date the disposition was made
  • the date of the disposition’s completion terms

For those who are convicted or had a deferred adjudication, the duty to register ends on the 10th anniversary of any of the following, whichever occurs last:

  • The penal institution release date
  • The date of discharge from community supervision
  • The date the court dismisses criminal proceedings

If the individual was a juvenile offender, and their case was transferred to a criminal district court, the duty to register ends on the 10th anniversary of the following, whichever occurs last:

  • The penal institution release date
  • The date of probation completion
  • The date the court dismisses criminal charges

How registration works

Fort Worth Sex Crimes Attorney

To begin the registration process, an individual has seven days to register in their county or municipality of residence. They must provide the offense, the victim’s age, a recent color photograph, and a DNA sample. Employment opportunities are also restricted, and additional information may be needed under certain circumstances.

Registration requirements must be followed. Otherwise, additional criminal charges and possible jail time can apply. An experienced attorney can assist you in understanding the required procedures. Contact our offices today to get the answers you need.

 

About the Author:

After getting his Juris Doctor from the University of Houston Law Center, Jeff Hampton began practicing criminal law in Texas in 2005. Before becoming a defense attorney, he worked as a prosecutor for the Tarrant County District Attorney’s Office – experience he uses to anticipate and cast doubt on the arguments that will be used against his clients. Over the course of his career, he has helped countless Texans protect their rights and get the best possible outcome in their criminal cases. His skill has earned him recognition from the National Trial Lawyers (Top 100 Trial Lawyers) and Avvo (Top Attorney in Criminal Defense, Top Attorney in DUI & DWI, 10/10 Superb Rating), and he is Lead Counsel rated.

 

(817) 877-5200
Consultation